Four Weeks, Two Days

Plastic in the Trees II

 

The results from all of the Convergence juried shows have been received. I’m happy to say I had this piece accepted into Eye Dazzlers.  

My entry in the fashion show was not accepted. Regina and I entered our Four Seasons mantle and Crown that we made last year for the Association of Southern California Handweavers conference. They accepted the blanket, but not the crown. I was rather unhappy at being rejected at first. But then I received an award in another show that I have three pieces in, and that significantly took the sting away.  

I have pieces in two of the juried shows at Convergence, and that’s pretty cool. The thing that I find most interesting about my results is this: I was accepted into the two shows where I submitted three pieces, which were all pieces from my current body of work, the type of work I usually do. I was rejected from the two shows where I only entered one piece, which were also the kinds of work I don’t normally do – e.g. yardage and wearables.  

The conclusion I draw from this is play to your strengths. If I normally did wearables or yardage pieces, I might have had three pieces to enter in each show. Then the jurors might have found one they wanted to include. But  Unlike two weeks ago, I don’t regret doing the yardage. Daryl made a good point, “I think stretching oneself and stepping out of the comfort zone once in awhile is really important.” I think she’s right. That’s why we all take workshops occasionally, and it’s why we follow these wild hare-brained ideas that take us off our own beaten paths. There are treasures to be found when we get lost in the forest. However, I need to hunker down and get some new work done. I didn’t submit to Blue Planet because I don’t have any new work that hasn’t been shown in San Francisco.  

And. . . I still don’t have an annual project for DW.  The warp I put on my loom two weeks ago has not been working out, and I’m thinking of rethreading it in another pattern – which will mean adapting a pattern to fit the existing warp. Ah, just like the days when I would adopt abandoned warps from CSUN. The design challenge is to make the pattern fit the warp, not to make a warp to fit a pattern. I have four weeks and two days before I present at Designing Weavers, and I just accepted a charity project to design a globe the size of a basketball, and is due on May 20.  

Shoot, how did I get so far up this creek, and why didn’t I bring a paddle?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

