The Globe Covered in Plastic

Mini Globe, Day 1

 

The globe is finished.  

To review, how it started  

And here it is:  

  

   

   

  

I decided to not cover the stand. I think it would be too lumpy and draw too much attention. Leaving it plain makes the globe itself more important, and the eye – really, the brain – cancels it out, it disappears.  

 

13 comments so far

  1. Melody on

    Its amazing! It points out a strong issue in our environment. Plus if there’s a pattern ppl can make one of recycled fibers to teach children…. Is there a pattern or did you create as you went along?

  2. […] del día de la tierra publicaron el trabajo de la artista Julie Kornblums, en el que ella tejió una cubierta a un globo terráqueo con bolsas plásticas. Es realmente asombroso el trabajo, un mapa perfectamente […]

  3. […] del día de la tierra publicaron el trabajo de la artista Julie Kornblums, en el que ella tejió una cubierta a un globo terráqueo con bolsas plásticas. Es realmente asombroso el trabajo, un mapa perfectamente […]

    • Julie Kornblum on

      Thank you for your comments. Good luck with your plastic reuse and reduction efforts.

  4. jillinabox on

    This is extraordinary and beautiful. Congratulations. As someone who cannot crochet or sew, I am especially awe-struck as I can’t even imagine how you might do this. You might enjoy my friend Julianne’s crocheted brain, which she made out of recycled plastic bags to highlight brain plasticity for Dementia Awareness Week. I don’t know how she did it, but it’s amazing!! http://sisteroutlaws.blogspot.com.au/2012/09/day-7-fight-dementia-challenge-i.html

  5. Robyn on

    This is truly incredible. What an enormous task, but haven’t the bags ended up well! The base globe was a great starting point.

  6. Green Bag Lady Teresa on

    Julie–

    This is truly amazing. I saw it on Recyclart and went through your website to find out more about it. I just posted it on my blog:

    http://www.greenbaglady.org

    I would be honored to send you one of our fabric bags if you would like one. Please let me know.

    All the best–Teresa

  7. michelle on

    Julie..this is dramatically beautiful and thoughtful. Thank you for you work in support of my own with the Children’s Nature Institute. Although I hope all the globes are sold in the auction, there is a part of me that wants to keep them all!

    • juliekornblum on

      Michelle,
      Thank you, and you’re welcome! It was a fun project. I almost never donate work to the many organizations and silent auctions who want artists to give their work away for free; and I have never made a piece specifically for a fundraising event. This one really caught my imagination, and I support your work. I hope all the globes sell and Children’s Nature Institute raises lots of money, and I want someone to take the globe and enjoy it; but I will be a little sad to let it go.

  8. Artswebshow on

    that is impressive.
    I can imagine it must have been quite difficult

    • juliekornblum on

      Thank you! It was actually not as difficult as I thought it would be. The work also progressed a lot faster than I thought it would. I was even surprised at how fast I was working. But then I remembered how much crocheting I had done the summer my grandmother taught me how. I was 13, and my family spent a couple or months back in our home town in Pennsylvania. I turned out several pairs of slippers, little purses, and toilet paper covers for the extra roll on the back of the tank.
      When we returned home to Arizona, I concentrated on sewing for my intake of fiber; and pretty much forgot about crochet until last summer when I took a free-form crochet workshop at the Surface Design conference in Kansas City. Since then, I haven’t been able to stop crocheting.


Leave a Reply

