July 1st

July 1st, I leave for Convergence in 16 days; I’ll need to deliver my mannequin to Santa Monica in 15 days. I’ll need to wash the piece when it’s done, as Laura Fry says, it’s not finished until it’s wet finished. Actually, since the bags were outdoors, then stored in boxes, they’re kind of dirty. Realistically, I need to be finished by July 14 to have enough time for the dress to dry.

Two weeks to go.

The work has slowed down in the last couple of days, as my hands started getting sore and tired. For a while I was trying to develope speed, and go faster; but that was beginning to cause quite a bit of pain. Yesterday I started taking breaks about every hour, and I took several hours in the afternoon to do some other things. The rest helped my hands, but at the expense of not getting  a complete round on the skirt done.

With all the increasing, the rounds of double crochet are getting longer and longer. I could figure out mathematically how many stitches are in each row, but at this point I don’t want to know. The skirt in now 11 1/2 rows, and I don’t know if it will make it to the planned length of 20.

The Jelly Yarn I ordered is supposed to get here today. I may be able to give myself a diversion and work on other parts of the outfit.

We have a wedding to go to on Sunday, which is July 4th. I think I’ll take the whole day off to rest my hands.

11 1/2 rows of double crochet

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

