February Wanderings

February was a lovely month here in Southern California. I made a couple of trips that took me from   Escondido to San Francisco to Big Sur and home again (though not all in the same trip).

IMG_1725

Somewhere along the Central California Coast.

I gave a presentation and half day workshop for the Palomar Handweavers Guild in Escondido. The subject was working with reused materials, so I took a whole load of junk and we all had some fun in the afternoon.

Mimi making a basket from plastic bag yarn (Plarn) and cardboard packing material.

Mimi making a basket from plastic bag yarn (Plarn) and cardboard packing material.

Last weekend I went to the Stitches conference in Santa Clara, CA. Over the last few months, my daughter,Samantha, and I had been discussing me making a visit to the Bay Area to see an exhibition of the Terracotta Warriors at  The Asian Art Museum. It opened during the weekend of Stitches, which I have been wanting to check out. Sam wanted to go with me to the Friday evening fashion show, so my Bay Area trip came together.IMG_1716

IMG_1711

Since I’ve been home, I have picked up the window shade project. Just before the Stitches trip, I created a color pallete for C & A.

The new color pallete and a dyed skein of fabric strips on top of the original white woven sample.

The new color pallete and a dyed skein of fabric strips on top of the original white woven sample.

I now need to dye all of the white yarn and fabric strips to prepare them for weaving.  One of the first things I’ll need to do is to wind skeins for dying. The next parts of the process are to scour and soda soak the skeins of yarn and fabric strips.

Skeins of white fabric strips.

Skeins of white fabric strips.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

